Australian Games and Film Ratings

Here we go then. A page specifically for the Australian Game Rating system…

Yeah it’s a bit dry but it’s helpful for parents who have kids that game…

Classification Markings on Film and Computer Games

Films (including public exhibition and DVD) and computer games may be classified G, PG, M or MA 15+. Films can also be classified R 18+ or X 18+.

Please note: Classifications of R 18+ and X 18+ are not applicable for computer games.

Each classification is coloured. G is green, PG is yellow, M is blue, MA 15+ is red and R 18+ and X 18+ are both black. The examples below display the three main components of a classification marking:

  • classification symbol
  • classification description
  • consumer advice, which is specific to each film and computer game, and which informs consumers about some of the content in a film or computer game.

Examples of Classification Markings

General (G):

The content is very mild.

Parental Guidance (PG):

Parental Guidance
The content is mild.

Mature (M):

Recommended for mature audiences
The content is moderate in impact.

The classifications below are legally restricted:

Mature (MA 15+):

Not suitable of people under 15. Under 15s must be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian
The content is strong.

Restricted (R18+):

Restricted to 18 and over
High level content.

X 18+:

X 18+ Restricted to 18 and over
This classification applies to films that contain only sexually explicit content.